Friday’s Faces from the Past: Who is this woman??

Cassie Wilson is on the right

Cassie Wilson is on the right

As I’ve mentioned, I inherited many photos from my grandpa when he passed. This one is from a photo album his mom made for him. There is another picture with this one too, taken the same day, it’s from August 1922. My great-grandpa (the dad at the bottom) is 14 and is the young boy. On the back of the photo it says: Grandma Cassie Wilson; Al Eisenhower; Dad 14 yrs 1922; Laith, Grandma’s Brother

WHO IS THIS WOMAN??

I have never heard the name before. Glenn’s grandparents are Gard and Lillie WITHERELL. Gard never remarried after Lillie died and besides, it would say Cassie Witherell if he had. And the other two are Archie and Dora McGRIFF who both died in the 30’s and in Washington state. So, my assumption is that she was someone who took care of him and kind of took him in. Today I searched for a few hours trying to see what I could find out about her and how she could have become connected to my great-grandpa. So far, not much.

From my small research I did today, she goes by Cassie but her real name is Mary. She married the Al (Andrew?) Eisenhower after this picture. In a later picture she is called Grandma Eisenhower. She is also pictured with her son, Henry Lyman Wilson which led me to her first husband, Lyman Wilson (he died in 1909). That led me to her maiden name which looks like Voise but is spelled differently in many items. She was born around 1855 in Ontario, Canada and she died around 1948.

I’m trying to find the connection. Her brother, because of his odd name, I thought would help but I couldn’t find anything.

I’m still hunting but thought I’d give cyberspace a try too. :)

Categories: Discovery, Photo, WITHERELL+ | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Friday’s Faces from the Past: Who is this woman??

  1. Pingback: 2013 In Review | My People in History

  2. Pingback: Friday’s Faces from the Past: A Mystery (Partially) Solved! | My People in History

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Virginia Allain

Writer, Photographer, Book Designer

Once a Hoosier...Always a Hoosier

Record your Indiana Ancestors

Planting the Seeds

Genealogy as a profession

If Destroyed Still True

Putting my teenage diaries online is a pretty daft idea but I can't quite bring myself to chuck them on a bonfire after years of writing EVERYTHING down... with diagrams.

Janaline's world journey

My Strange and Wonderful Experiences and Adventures as I Travel through the World

My Genealogy Life

Ancestor Hunter

It's all Relative

FAMILY HISTORY RESEARCH

Famtastic History

Digging up the past is a present to yourself

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

