Book of Me: Prompt 14

See the page titled Book of Me for more information!

If you had to hold a dinner party and could invite a maximum of 12 special people who would you invite?

This week You CAN include family.

What meals would you serve and why.

I had a lot of fun with prompt 13 so I thought this one would also be a breeze! Not so much. I would want to invite ALL my family… and I had to narrow it down to 12. I’ll go with the same format as my last prompt (in no special order):

The People

1) Mary Witherell – my paternal grandmother. I miss her a lot. She died before getting to see me graduate from high school, then college. She didn’t get to meet my husband nor see what kind of career I chose. I wish more than anything to see her again and just talk. I’d want to know if she was proud of me.

2) Betty VanGuilder – my great aunt. Another person I miss terribly. I had a post dedicated to her here. I really wish she could have met my husband and to be honest, I just want to talk to her again. I know she said before she passed away that she wanted one more night to go wild. She didn’t get that but I wonder what she meant by that and what she would have done. I really she was still here so I could just go to her for advice.

3) Erma Witherell: my great-grandmother. I would love to chat with her and get as many of her stories as I could! She was always one of my favorite relatives to visit because we were allowed to play with everything and go anywhere at their house. She said to just “let us be kids.” I have a lot of questions about the motorcycles now too.

4) Glenn Witherell: my great-grandfather. I never got to hear his voice and I would love to do that. With that, I want to hear his stories! I want to know about his brothers and his parents – especially his dad. I’d want to know what happened.

5) Bobbie Witherell: my paternal grandpa. He was always a bright spot in my life and I would love to just have another dinner and talk with him. And I’d love to hear about how he supposedly burned down the apartment him and his parents lived in when he was a kid…

6) Frederick Langeneck: My great-grandpa. I would love to hear about what it was like to grow up in Yugoslavia (now Croatia) and just hear about his life. I also just want to meet him because my mom always described going to his house as the “fun grandparents.” There were lots of cousins, laughter, and fun there. I want to meet him!

7) Theresa Schmidt: my great-great grandmother – she’s the above’s mother. I’d want to ask her about coming here (twice!) from Austria-Hungary, losing her first husband, and how it was living here. I’d love to just hear stories about what her life was like growing up overseas.

8) Frederick Langeneck (Sr.): my great-great grandfather – the above’s husband. He died in World War I. I’d love to know why he returned to fight for Austria after he had already moved to the USA. I’d love to know some of the details about the war as well (is that too grisly? The historian in me is curious for the human-side instead of the battle list.)

9) Lily Witherell: my 3 times great-grandmother and my mystery! Her maiden name is McLeod and I’ve hit many walls with finding her parents or where she was born. I actually have the where (or maybe I do – it’s from her obituary) but no birth records exist for a Lillian McLeod. Anyway, I’d love to just sit her down and get her information from a good source!

10) Ellen Langeneck: my great-grandmother (Frederick Jr’s wife). Again, she was considered the fun grandma according to my mom. I’d love to meet her! She also had a lovely tattoo of a boy’s name (which was NOT my great-grandfather). Who wouldn’t want to meet that woman?!

11) Fae Almy: My great-great aunt. I talked about her a bit here. I would love to hear her stories now. Especially because I want to travel so much and I’d love for recommendations and stories. :)

12) Gard Witherell (Jr.): My great-great grandpa. There are some interesting family rumors regarding him and I’d love to know more about them.

The Menu

As I stated before, I hate cooking. BUT my aunt Betty loves it. So maybe she could create the meal! Or we could do what we do for all family gatherings: a potluck. Then I’d gladly bring in one dish of something and everyone else can bring their favorite. I can imagine lots of sauerkraut, sausage, beans, deviled eggs, chili, etc. And the desserts would be fantastic! ┬áLots of homemade favorites :)

Seating Arrangements

None! It’s family. We’d pick at the food and casually move around talking to everyone.

Reflection

This time of year makes me sad about those who aren’t with us. This was a fun prompt to do but one that brought me to tears more than a smile. I miss so many people! I asked my parents who’d they would want over and it made for some fun and interesting discussions though. I enjoyed this prompt. :)

Categories: ALMY, Book of Me, HUMMEL, LANGENECK+, McLEOD, WITHERELL+ | Tags: , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Book of Me: Prompt 14

  1. I enjoyed reading your answers and delighted that you enjoyed the prompt but sad that it made you sad. As I wrote my response I was also sad, and I guess that this is all part of the grieving process, which can last as long as it needs to.

    • NikiMarie

      I agree with this being a part of the grieving process. I found this to be cathartic as well. I don’t mind getting a bit sad when remembering those who have passed, to me it means they are still with me in some way. :)

      • I agree with you. The last Christmas my Grandmother was alive she spent with us – actually she stayed 6 weeks because she wasn’t 100% and she could have gone home, but secretly neither of us wanted her too. She stayed and my husband recorded a lot of her. I can not watch that video and she died in April 1995. Whilst we grieve for as long as necessary there are always going to be those people. whose loss we never quite recover from.

      • NikiMarie

        My grandmother died in 2000 and it took me about 10 years before I could go to her grave. I don’t think I’d be able to watch a video either :) She is definitely a loss I don’t think I’ll ever recover from.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Famtastic History

Digging up the past is a present to yourself

Tracing Amy: My Ancestral Journey

PRUITT and EDWARDS Families of Clarke County, MS

Caroline Heldman's Blog

Political Musings from a "Totalitarian Liberal"

The Faces Of My Family

Documenting my family research for future descendants.

wise monkeys abroad

the world is our playground

Bumblebee Trails

Travels in the World and in Life ...

Root To Tip

Not just a list of names and dates

The Lives of my Ancestors

Lives, Biographies and Sketches of my Family History

Cynthia Stacey

Young Adult Paranormal Author - Expect the Unexpected!

hoosiergenealogyadventure

One Hoosier girl on a mission to unearth her family's history

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

