Sunday’s Obituary: Fannie (McGRIFF) WITHERELL

Last day of travel for me! I’ll be glad to be home! I can’t wait to see my dog :)

This prompt is brought to you by geneabloggers once again. I don’t know what I’d do without them!

Fannie (McGriff) Witherell

Fannie (McGriff) Witherell

Meet my great-great grandmother!

Her obituary was in the Saginaw News Courier 29 Jan 1919:

Fannie M. Witherell – Mrs. Fanny M. Witherell died at her home 208, North Sixth streetm Tuesday afternoon at 2:45 of pneumonia following influenze from which she had been ill about a week. She was born in Midland county September 15, 1889 and has lived in Saginaw for 10 years. She also lived in Gladwin at one time. She leaves three children, Glenn, Jack, and Thomas Witherell, four brothers, Wesley McGriff, Arizona; Sylvester McGriff, Oregon; Glenn and Leslie McGriff of Saginaw, and three sisters, Mrs. Harry Hume, Garyling, Mrs. Wora Gaqbensack, Seattle and Mrs. Blanch Evans, Evart. The body was taken to Frazee’s from which place services will be held later.

It is hard to imagine a flu epidemic like the one in 1919. This is my great-grandpa’s mom (Glenn, you all met the three boys yesterday) and even his wife’s (my great-grandma) mom died during this time. I know we’ve had bad cases of the flu before –  I even caught the swine flu when it came around. It was AWFUL, but dying from it? I can’t imagine for someone so young. It’s hard to wrap your head around when we have the medicine to save people from that type of death; you kind of always imagined it was there. It’s even sadder to me because I wonder if this is what tore the family apart. The boys eventually drift and become boarders in their teens. Their father doesn’t marry again. I wonder if it was too much for him.

Categories: McGRIFF, WITHERELL+ | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Sunday’s Obituary: Fannie (McGRIFF) WITHERELL

  1. Les Taylor

    I’m Leslie Taylor son of Nathalie nee McGriff, grandson of Leslie McGriff and great grandson of Archibald McGriff. You may have seen my tree on the Ancestry.com site. I also love to do genealogy. I have some pictures of Fannie McGriff if you’d like to see them.

  2. Joy Cooper

    Niki looking at the pictures I noted that the one of Fanny ? alone must be backwards or the other because of the buttons on the dresses and coat could this make the difference. Joy

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

The Hanneman Archive

History Preserved. Lives Treasured.

Virginia Allain

Writer, Photographer, Book Designer

Once a Hoosier...Always a Hoosier

Record your Indiana Ancestors

Planting the Seeds

Genealogy as a profession

If Destroyed Still True

Putting my teenage diaries online is a pretty daft idea but I can't quite bring myself to chuck them on a bonfire after years of writing EVERYTHING down... with diagrams.

Janaline's world journey

My Strange and Wonderful Experiences and Adventures as I Travel through the World

My Genealogy Life

Ancestor Hunter

It's all Relative

FAMILY HISTORY RESEARCH

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

