Those Places Thursday: Fife Lake

This prompt is thanks to geneabloggers and can be found here.

Growing up, I always heard about Fife Lake. My dad talked about the summers they spent there fishing and my grandpa would talk about it and how he grew up going there. I, however, have never seen the lake. I knew next to nothing about it besides that my dad’s family seemed to go there often in their youth. Through research, I found out it’s where my great-grandma spent a lot of her time because her dad lived there. Hence why my grandpa and dad grew up going there quite often. I found some pictures of the place in my chest as well.

025 Great-grandpa Almy

026 Winter Fife Lake
This man was the main reason why everyone went to Fife Lake! He moved up there in the early 1940’s where he stayed until he died in 1959. It was always a place talked to me with great enthusiasm so I can imagine it was a wonderful place to be.

Fife Lake through the years:

Late 1940's : Bobbie and his dad Glenn WITHERELL

Late 1940’s : Bobbie and his dad Glenn WITHERELL

Bobbie with Bootsie, their dog.

Bobbie with Bootsie, their dog.

Family boat

Family boat

Erma (ALMY) WITHERELL 1951

Erma (ALMY) WITHERELL 1951

Erma again with a friend. 1960's Fife Lake

Erma again with a friend. 1960’s Fife Lake

Glenn sitting on a "liar's bench" for fishers.

Glenn sitting on a “liar’s bench” for fishers.

My dad in the lake - 1960's

My dad in the lake – 1960’s

1960's: everyone loved to fish!

1960’s: everyone loved to fish!

Oddly, we didn’t do a lot of camping in my immediate family (only once). Both my dad and mom grew up with having a place to go “up north” but we never did that as a family. Growing up, it didn’t seem such a big deal but now that I can see how much they did when they were younger, I often wonder why we didn’t.

Categories: ALMY, WITHERELL+ | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Those Places Thursday: Fife Lake

  1. Pingback: 52 Ancestors #12: Arthur Almy | My People in History

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Planting the Seeds

Genealogy as a profession

If Destroyed Still True

Putting my teenage diaries online is a pretty daft idea but I can't quite bring myself to chuck them on a bonfire after years of writing EVERYTHING down... with diagrams.

Janaline's world journey

My Strange and Wonderful Experiences and Adventures as I Travel through the World

My Genealogy Life

Ancestor Hunter

It's all Relative

FAMILY HISTORY RESEARCH

Famtastic History

Digging up the past is a present to yourself

Tracing Amy: My Ancestral Journey

PRUITT and EDWARDS Families of Clarke County, MS

The Faces Of My Family

Documenting my family research for future descendants.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

