Amanuensis Monday: Grandma’s Journal – Jan 2nd 1945

My family and I moved two times before I went my own way – and both times we moved into the house my paternal grandparents were moving out of. Once to the house my father grew up in and the second time to the duplex my grandparents had purchased to take care of my great-grandparents. With them and my grandmother gone, we moved in with my grandpa. ¬†While unpacking, I happened to find my grandmother’s journal and with my grandfather’s blessing, I was able to keep it.

I plan on putting in an entry every Monday as an ongoing story. This journal spans the year of 1945. She didn’t write every day in the journal but she was pretty regular in the beginning. She was the youngest of 7 children (and the second girl, all the rest were boys) and was turning 15 in 1945. She did have at least two brothers who were in World War II as well.

IMG_4133 IMG_4134 IMG_4135

Tuesday January 2nd 1945

Grant stayed all nite. Took down the Christmas tree. Did dishes. Read Grant my diary am starting a new year. Did dinner dishes. Played with Grant and read stories. Did the supper dishes. Jack, Marge, Mom and Grant went to the temple and saw Thirty Seconds Over Toky with Van Johnson. I took care of Marion. Listen to the radio, Put up my hair. Bonnie came over for a while. Eggs went to the drugstore with me. School starts tomorrow.

My Response:

I am surprised by my 15 year old Grandmother’s writing style! Having read her letters from when she was older, I assumed it would be written like that and not so choppy. To explain a little, Grant is her nephew. Her older brother (Jack) is married (that’s Marge) and Grant is her nephew (about 7 years younger than her). Marion may be her niece as well but I’m not sure. Odd as it is, my grandmother didn’t talk about these years too much. I also didn’t think to ask when I was younger – something I wish I would have done now. My grandmother also had interesting names for her girlfriends – some of whom I was able to meet when I was younger. She kept in close touch with them throughout her life. She also loved movies and movie stars. She will write about them quite a bit!

Categories: Diary, HUMMEL | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Amanuensis Monday: Grandma’s Journal – Jan 2nd 1945

  1. Pingback: My Book of Me: Prompt 6 – Journals and Diaries | My People in History

  2. Pingback: Amanuensis Monday: Jan 3rd-5th 1945 | My People in History

  3. Pingback: Amanuensis Monday: Jan 6-7 1945 | My People in History

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Planting the Seeds

Genealogy as a profession

Moving Art by Louie Schwartzberg

If a picture is worth 1000 words, this will leave you breathless.

If Destroyed Still True

Putting my teenage diaries online is a pretty daft idea but I can't quite bring myself to chuck them on a bonfire after years of writing EVERYTHING down... with diagrams.

Janaline's world journey

My Strange and Wonderful Experiences and Adventures as I Travel through the World

My Genealogy Life

Ancestor Hunter

It's all Relative

FAMILY HISTORY RESEARCH

Famtastic History

Digging up the past is a present to yourself

Tracing Amy: My Ancestral Journey

PRUITT and EDWARDS Families of Clarke County, MS

The Faces Of My Family

Documenting my family research for future descendants.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

