Friday’s Faces from the Past

When my grandfather passed away, I was the lucky receiver of all the family pictures that he had from my grandmother (who had passed away in 2000) and from his mother – which included his father’s family pictures too. All these photos I keep in my grandmother’s hope chest:

IMG_4129

 

I’ve been working on organizing it by date and getting boxes to keep the pictures in. After the funeral, the pictures mostly were just thrown in so I’m not sure when some happened or who some people are. For example:

IMG_4130

 

Now these two are in an album that my great-grandmother made for her children: my grandpa and his sister. This picture is in the WITHERELL family section so I’m assuming this is a relative to my great-grandfather. I am actually assuming this is my great-grandfather’s dad, Gard, and Gard’s grandmother, Martha WOLCOTT (who lived with her son for a time, probably after his wife died).

I have no clue who they are really. I have pictures of Gard as a baby and an adult and I can see a resemblance but still, not quite certain.

I’d love to know if there is anyone else out there searching for WITHERELL’s! I was under the mistaken impression that it wasn’t a common surname. I was quite wrong about that as I found out over the years.

There is a Witherell book that focuses on two lines: Rev. WITHERELL and William WITHERELL. I have at least confirmed that I am NOT part of either of those (one line is where Benjamin WITHERELL and his father, James, are from – they were Michigan politicians and the Witherell street that Comerica Park is on is named after them) which was disappointing.

My search marches on :) After all, if this was easy it wouldn’t as much fun!

Categories: ALMY, WALCOTT, WITHERELL+ | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Friday’s Faces from the Past

  1. Pingback: Book of Me: Time Capsule | My People in History

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Famtastic History

Digging up the past is a present to yourself

Tracing Amy: My Ancestral Journey

PRUITT and EDWARDS Families of Clarke County, MS

Caroline Heldman's Blog

Political Musings from a "Totalitarian Liberal"

The Faces Of My Family

Documenting my family research for future descendants.

wise monkeys abroad

the world is our playground

Bumblebee Trails

Travels in the World and in Life ...

Root To Tip

Not just a list of names and dates

The Lives of my Ancestors

Lives, Biographies and Sketches of my Family History

Cynthia Stacey

Young Adult Paranormal Author - Expect the Unexpected!

hoosiergenealogyadventure

One Hoosier girl on a mission to unearth her family's history

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

